Friends of Refugees

A U.S. Refugee Resettlement Program Watchdog Group

State Refugee Coordinators

WARNING: State Refugee Coordinators’ jobs depend on good news about refugee resettlement. Complaints directed to them are therefore usually shelved. When writing to them please also copy your governor, US senators and representative. If they do not respond constructively to your complaints and concerns, please then write directly to your governor and US senators and representative. Also contact local media sources.

Alabama

Jana Curran
Wilson/Fish Coordinator
406 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36602
Tel: 251.432.2727
Fax: 251.432.2927
E-mail: jcurran2@cssrrp.org;
legimpro@aol.com

Alaska

Dr. Karen Ferguson
State Refugee Coordinator
3710 East 20th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99508

Tel:  907.222.7376
Fax: 907.258.1091
E-mail:  KFerguson@cssalaska.org

 

Arizona

Charles Shipman
State Refugee Coordinator/SCORR President
Dept. of Economic Security

Division of Aging and Adult Services
1789 West Jefferson Street, Site Code 086Z
Phoenix, AZ 85005
Tel: 602.542.6614
Fax: 602.542.6400
E-mail: cshipman@azdes.gov

 

Arkansas

Carolyn Jackson
State Refugee Coordinator
Department of Human Services
Employment/Income Support Section
P.O. Box 1437, Slot S-333
Little Rock, AR
72203-1437
Tel: 501.682.8250
Fax: 501.682.1597
E-mail: carolyn.j.jackson@arkansas.gov


California

Website: California Refugee Programs Bureau

John A. Wagner, Director
Department of Social Services
744 P Street, MS 17-11
Sacramento, CA 95814
Tel: 916.657.2598                                          

Fax: 916.654.6021                                         

Dr. Mike McKay

San Diego Wilson/Fish Director

Catholic Charities San Diego

4575-A Mission Gorge Place

San Diego, CA 92120

Tel: 619.287.9454 x185

Fax: 619.287.6328

E-mail: mmckay@ccdsd.org

Thuan Nguyen
Chief of Bureau
Refugee Programs Bureau
Department of Social Services
744 P Street, MS 6-646                                   

Sacramento, CA 95814                                    

Tel: 916.654.4356
Fax: 916.654.7187
Email: Thuan.Nguyen@dss.ca.gov

Dr. Mike McKay, Supervisor

Catholic Charities San Diego

4575-A Mission Gorge Place,

San Diego, CA 92120

Tel: 619.287.9454 x185

Fax: 619.287.6328

E-mail: mmckay@ccdsd.org

 

Colorado

Paul Stein, State Refugee Coordinator
Department of Human Services
Colorado Refugee Services Program
789 Sherman, Suite 440
Denver, CO 80203
Tel: 303.863.8211 x19
Fax: 303.863.0838
E-mail: paul.stein@state.co.us

 

Connecticut

David Frascarelli , State Refugee Coordinator
Department of Social Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Tel: 860.424.5387
Fax: 860.424.4957
E-mail: david.frascarelli@ct.gov

 

Delaware

Thomas Hall, Social Service Administrator
Delaware Division of Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
Lewis Building
New Castle, DE  19720
Tel: 302.255.9605
Fax: 302.255.4425
E-mail: thomas.hall@state.de.us

 

District of Columbia

Debra Crawford, DC ORR State Coordinator
645 H St., N.E. 3rd Floor

Washington, D.C. 20002
Tel: 202.299.2153
Fax: 202.478.5747
E-mail: debra.crawford@dc.gov

 

Florida

Website: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/refugee/

Hiram A. Ruiz
Director of Refugee Services
Department of Children and Families
401 NW 2nd Ave., Suite N-1007
Miami, Florida 33128
Tel: 305.377.5055 ext. 315
Fax: 305.377.5770
E-mail: hiram_ruiz@dcf.state.fl.us

 

Georgia

Website: Georgia Department of Human Resources, Community Services Section

Michael Singleton
State Refugee Coordinator
Division of Family and Children Services
OFI Suit 21-402
Atlanta, GA 30303-3142

Tel: 404.657.5118
Fax: 404.463.8046
E-mail: msingleton@dhr.state.ga.us

 

Hawaii

Lola Salimova
Refugee State Coordinator
Office of Community Services
830 Punchbowl St., Rm. 420
Honolulu, HI 96813
Tel: 808.586.8699
Fax: 808.586.8685
E-mail: Lola.K.Salimova@hawaii.gov

Idaho
Website: Idaho Office for Refugees

Jan A. Reeves

Director Idaho Office for Refugees

Mountain States Group
1607 West Jefferson Street

Boise, ID 83702

Tel: 208.336.4222
Fax: 208.331.0267
E-mail: jreeves@IdahoRefugees.org
 

 

Illinois

Dr. Edwin Silverman
State Refugee Coordinator
Department of Human Services
401 South Clinton, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60607
Tel:  312.793.7120

Fax: 312.793.2281
E-mail: Edwin.Silverman@illinois.gov

 

Indiana

Matthew Schomburg
State Refugee Coordinator
Division of Family Resources
Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
FSSA Noble County Office
702 Goodwin Place, Suite A
Kendallville, IN 46755
Tel: 260.599.0120
Fax: 260.349.0953
E-mail: matthew.schomburg@fssa.in.gov

Iowa

Website: Iowa Bureau of Refugee Services

John Wilken Chief, Bureau for Refugee Services
Iowa Department of Human Services
401 SW 7th, Suite N
Des Moines, Iowa 50309
Tel: 515.283.7904
Fax: 515.283.9160
E-mail: jwilken@dhs.state.ia.us

 

Kansas

Lewis A. Kimsey
State Refugee Services Coordinator
LIEAP/GA Manager
Social & Rehabilitation Services
915 SW Harrison; 681-W
DSOB
Topeka KS 66612
Tel: 785.296.0147
Fax: 785.296.0146
E-mail: lak@srs.ks.gov

 

Kentucky

Becky Jordan
Kentucky State Refugee Coordinator
Director, Kentucky Office for Refugees
1177 East Broadway
Louisville KY 40204
Tel: 502.365.4632
Fax: 502.365.4720
E-mail: bjordan@archlou.org

Louisiana

Website: Louisiana: The Refugee Resettlement Center

Kristi Hackney
State Refugee Coordinator
Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Baton Rouge
P.O. Box 4213
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4213
Tel: 225.346.0660
Fax: 225.346.0020
E-mail: khackney@ccdiobr.org

 

Maine

Catherine S. Yomoah
State Refugee Coordinator
Maine Department of Health and Human Services
Office of Multicultural Affairs
221 State Street
Augusta, ME 01333-0011
Tel: 207.287.5737
Fax: 207.287.4052
E-mail: Catherine.Yomoah@maine.gov


Maryland

Website: Department of Human Resources, Maryland Office for Refugees and Asylees

Edward Lin
State Refugee Coordinator & Director
Maryland Office for Refugees and Asylees
Department of Human Resources
Saratoga State Center
311 West Saratoga Street, Room 222
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410.767.7394
Fax: 410.333.0244
E-mail: elin@dhr.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Website: http://www.mass.gov/ori

Josiane Martinez, Director
Office for Refugees and Immigrants
18 Tremont Street, Suite 1020
Boston, MA 02108
Tel: 617.727.7888, x303
Fax: 617.727.1822
E-mail: josiane.martinez@state.ma.us

Michigan

Al Horn
Refugee Program Director
Office of Refugee Services
Interagency and Community Services
235 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 501
P.O. Box 30037
Lansing, MI 48909
Tel: 517.241.7819
Fax: 517.241/7826
E-mail: horna@michigan.gov

 

Minnesota

Gus Avenido
Refugee State Coordinator/Manager
Resettlement Programs Office
Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 64962
St. Paul, MN 55164-0962
Tel: 651.431.3837
Fax: 651.431.7483
E-mail: gus.avenido@state.mn.us

 

Mississippi

Lorraine Hunter
State Refugee Coordinator
Family and Children Services
Department of Human Services
750 N. State Street, Room 243
Jackson, MS 39202
Tel: 601.359.4585
Fax: 601.359.2390
E-mail: Lorraine.Hunter@mdhs.ms.gov

 

Missouri

Valerie Howard, MSW
State Refugee Coordinator
Programs Manager, Community Support Unit
Department of Social Services, Family Support Division
P.O. Box 2320
Jefferson City, MO 65102-2320
Tel: 573.751.6789
Fax: 573.522.9557
E-mail: Valerie.Howard@dss.mo.gov

 

Montana

Carol W. Carpenter
State Refugee Coordinator
DPHHS/HCSD/PAB
P.O. Box 202952
Helena, MT 59620-2952
Tel:406.444.9291
Fax:406.444.0617
E-mail: ccarpenter@mt.gov

 

Nebraska

Karen Parde
Program Coordinator
DHHS , Division of Children and Family Services
301 Centennial Mall South, Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509
Tel: 402.471.9264
Fax: 402.471.9597
E-mail: karen.parde@nebraska.gov

 

Nevada

Carisa Ramirez
State Refugee Coordinator
Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada
1511 N. Las Vegas Boulevard
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Telephone: 702.387.2266
Fax: 702.436.1579
E-mail: cramirez@catholiccharities.com


Monsignor Patrick Leary

E-mail: pleary@catholiccharities.com

 

New Hampshire

Barbara Seebart
State Refugee Coordinator
NH Office of Energy and Planning
4 Chennel Drive
Concord, NH 03301-8501
Tel: 603.271.6361
Fax: 603.271.2615
E-mail: Barbara.Seebart@NH.Gov

New Jersey

Annette Riordan
State Refugee Coordinator
NJDHS Division of Family Development (DFD)
Transitional Services Unit
6 Quakerbridge Plaza P.O. Box 716
Hamilton, NJ 08619
Tel: 609-631-4534
E-mail: Annette.Riordan@dhs.state.nj.us

 

New Mexico

Kresta-Leigh Opperman
State Refugee Coordinator
Work and Family Support Bureau
Income Support Division
NM Human Services Department
Pollon Plaza
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
Tel: 505.827.7258
Fax: 505.827.7259
E-mail: kresta.opperman@state.nm.us

 

New York

Dodie Wheeler
State
Refugee Coordinator
Bureau of Refugees & Immigrant Assistance

New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance
40 North Pearl Street
Albany, NY 12243
Tel: 518.402.3096
Fax: 518.402.3029
E-mail: Dorothy.Wheeler@otda.state.ny.us

North Carolina

Marlene Myers

State Refugee Coordinator

Family Services Section

Department of Human Resources

325 Salisbury Street

Raleigh, NC 27603

Tel: 919.733.4650

E-mail: marlene.myers@dhhs.nc.gov

 

North Dakota

Siniša Milovanović
New American Services
Director and State Refugee Coordinator
Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota
1325 11
th Street South
Fargo, ND 58103
Tel: 701.235.7341
Fax: 701.235.7359
E-mail: smilovanovic@lssnd.org

 

Ohio

Evelyn Bissonnette

State Refugee Coordinator

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services

Office of Family Stability

P.O. Box 182709

50 W. Town Street, 6th Floor

Columbus, OH 43218-2709

Tel: 614.752.0650

Fax: 614.728.0761

E-mail: Evelyn.bissonnette@jfs.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Melanie Silva

Refugee Program Manager

Family Support Service Division

P.O. Box 25352

Oklahoma City, OK 73125

Tel: 405.521.4402

Fax: 405.521.4158

E-mail: Melanie.silva@okdhs.org

 

Oregon

Rhonda Prodzinski
Acting State Refugee Coordinator
Child Care & Refugee Programs Manager
Department of Human Services
500 Summer Street NE, E-48
Salem, OR 97301
Tel: 503.945.6108
Fax: 503 373.7032
E-mail: Rhonda.prodzinski@state.or.us

 

Pennsylvania

Norm-Anne Rothermel

Dept of Public Welfare/BETP/RRP
Health and Welfare Bldg, 2nd Floor West
7th and Forster Sts.
Harrisburg, PA 17105
Tel: 717.787.8608
E-Mail: nrothermel@state.pa.us

 

Rhode Island

Ms. Gail Dunphy
State Refugee Coordinator
Department of Human Services
Contract Management
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920
Tel: 401.462.3375
Fax: 401.462.2975
E-mail: gdunphy@dhs.ri.gov

 

South Carolina

Dorothy Addison
State Refugee Coordinator
Program Supervisor
SCDSS Family Assistance

Refugee Resettlement & Repatriation Services
Columbia, SC 20202-1520
Phone: 803.898.0989
Fax: 803.898.7156
E-mail: dorothy.addison@dss.sc.gov

 

South Dakota

Tim Jurgens
Director of Refugee and Immigration Programs
Lutheran Social Services
1609 West 11
th
Street Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Tel: 605.731.2015
Fax: 605.731.2029
E-mail: tim.jurgens@lsssd.org

 

Tennessee

Holly Johnson
State Refugee Coordinator
Tennessee Office for Refugees
Catholic Charities of Tennessee, Inc.
21 White Bridge Road, Suite 201
Nashville, TN 37205
Tel: 615.352.9520, ext. 222
Fax: 615.352.0701
E-mail: hjohnson@cctenn.org 

Texas

Website: Texas Department of Human Services, Office of Immigration and Refugee Affairs (OIRA)

Caitriona Lyons, State Refugee Coordinator
Texas Health and Human Services Commissions
Office of Family Services
HHSC/Mail Code 2010  

909 West 45th Street, PO Box 12668
Austin, TX 78751                                            

Tel: 512.206.5076
Fax: 512.206.5812
E-mail: caitriona.lyons@hhsc.state.tx.us

 

Jeff Johnson

Manager, Family and Community Services

Texas Health and Human  Services Commission

Office of Family Services

Email: jeff.johnson@hhsc.state.tx.us

 

Utah

Gerald Brown
Director of Refugee Services
Utah Department of Workforce Services
140 East 300 South, 5
th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Tel: 801.526.9787
Fax: 801.526.9789
E-mail: geraldbrown@utah.gov

 

Vermont

Denise Lamoureux
State Refugee Coordinator
Agency of Human Services
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-0203

Tel: 802.241.2229
Fax: 802.241.4461
E-mail: Denise.Lamoureux@state.vt.us

 

Virginia

Kathy Cooper
State Refugee Coordinator
Office of Newcomer Services
Virginia Department of Social Services
801 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219-3301
Tel: 804.726.7927
Fax: 804.726.7127
E-mail: Kathy.Cooper@dss.virginia.gov


Washington

Tom Medina, State Refugee Coordinator                                         

Department of Social and Health Services
Office of Refugee & Immigrant Assistance
712 Pear Street
Olympia, WA 98504-5470

Tel: 360.725.4636
Fax: 360.725.4879
E-mail: Medintr@dshs.wa.gov

 

Ko Vang

VangKC@dshs.wa.gov

 

West Virginia

Ms. Monica Hamilton
State Refugee Coordinator
Office of Family Support
350 Capitol Street, B-18
Charleston, WV 25301
Tel: 304.356.4620
Fax: 304.558.2059
E-mail: Monica.A.Hamilton@wv.gov


Wisconsin

Mette J. Brogden
State Refugee Coordinator
The Bureau of Working Families
Department of Children and Families
201 East Washington Avenue, Second
Floor P.O. Box 8916
Madison, WI 53708-8916
mette.brogden@wisconsin.us
Tel: 608.267.9705
Fax: 608.266.6836
E-mail: mette.brogden@wisconsin.gov

7 Responses to “State Refugee Coordinators”

  1. John Eilertson said

    Wisconsin has new Refugee Coordinator. Update.

    • ahfkarimi said

      Dear Sir!
      I am Farid Ahmad from Afghanistan. I have been teaching English for six years here in Kabul, Afghanistan.
      I want to give my bachelor degree and improve my talents to help my family. You know there was civil war in our country for that case we moved to Iran for about nine years when I was a child and came back to our country on 2004. A group by the name of Taliban captured our house and we complained to the government, but no one heard our voice regretfully. Now I hope you help me to go to America. Please if anyone (reliable) sees my post, let me know if it is possible.

      With regards,
      Farid Ahmad Karimi
      0093782655740
      ahf.karimi@gmail.com

  2. suganthan said

    dear sir
    i am suganthan from india.i am a srilankan refugees since 1990 .i have done B.Tech(Agricultural Engineering).i got married.lot of trouble here.i have not jobs here becaz of refugees.i cant go back srilanka .my home and all land destroyed by militory.now i am idle in refugee camp.please sir help for me i want go to other country like australiya.what is the procedure a refugee go to australiya.you are my god i am very poverty life in india sir.

  3. Hasham said

    Respectable Madam/Sir,
    I want to request you very humbly that I am a asylum seeker with my family from Pakistan and living in Bangkok since 5 months.
    I have three children under 5 years old.
    I have to left Pakistan after the attempt of killing me.
    I am not allowed to take a job and no body is helping me.
    I have tried some organisations like JRS to take financial help but the have delayed since 3 months and at end they say that they have no budget more.
    I am in miserable condition where the infants need milk. and I need house rent and also something to eat.
    I have nothing to survive more please help me where the Great America helping the big states I need only for my little family to survive.
    Please do something for me.
    I am very thankful for your kind response.
    We are looking to you.
    Kind Regards.

    Ch.Hasham Ahmad
    tel:0863261798
    Bangkok

  4. djuma said

    i am refegees halp me please

  5. Daria said

    You have an old e-mail address for the Kansas state coordinator.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

%d bloggers like this: